Pro Login/Register

Carolina Pro-Am SUP Surf 2024

The Carolina Pro-Am SUP Surf event concluded last weekend with contestable surf conditions at Wrightsville Beach for both SUP surf and SUP longboard divisions.

Facebook Post: Carolina Pro-AmThis was the largest turnout in the history of the contest originally started in 2014 by Haywood Newkirk and Jason Colclough, and we’re so fortunate both are still very much a part of the contest. Also historic to the contest and fitting of a 10th Anniversary was our first single Title Sponsor Infinity SUP. We had a wonderful Friday night at South Beach Grill for the first time and then SUNdays opened their doors for the awards Sunday as the weather continued to be a major piece of the weekend.

We think several things set us apart and helps make the contest what it is. We have a 3 day window to optimize conditions and heats. It would be easier to just pick one day, set times and say “Go!” Take what you get. While it can be frustrating for some, including us, you saw how we had to adjust around the weather. And man was it crazy. Beautiful sun and warm, then windy and cold, then sunny and warm and then cold rain and lightning! Welcome to spring in North Carolina. We were the first SUP surf contest to include sup longboard, first to include a first time/beginner division and first to include a Master’s Pro 40+ division. …. Which by the way there was close to 50 entrees in just 50-59, Masters Pro and Open Longboard all combined!

But what really makes it run are the competitors, sponsors and organizers. You know who you are!!! THANK YOU!!! Without you all, Rob Moran, Haywood Newkirk, Byron Kurt, John Sideris, Mike Hill, Nathan Champion, Jason Colclough, and Austin Howard (Austin Ralph) and the incredible Laura Salmon Glantz behind the lens could never pull it off. You all make us look good. It’s far from perfect but I guess that’s not the goal. We’re not perfect but maybe that’s what also sets us apart. We’re friends. We’re community. We’re fun times. We laugh. Thank You.

Here are the winners from the Pro division with more results dropping soon;

Men’s Open Pro: Max Torres

Women’s Open Pro: Luchy Cosoleto

Men’s Pro Longboard: Bernd Roediger

Women’s Pro Longboard: Dominique Miller

Overall Waterman Pro Award: Dave Boehne

Photo: Laura Glantz

Learn More About The Event

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
QR: Carolina Pro-Am SUP Surf 2024

Brand Partners

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x