Pro Login/Register

USA National SUP Titles 2022

The USA National SUP Titles for surfing and racing we held last weekend and the top competitors qualified for the ISA World Games later this year. See the results and write up below.

* Press Release: USA Surfing

SUP surfers and distance racers representing both coasts, and Hawaii put up impressive performances at the 2022 Oceanside USA Surfing SUP Championship on the 18th June, qualifying them to represent the U.S. in the International Surfing Association’s World SUP Championship in Puerto Rico.

The energy and sets were pumping in Oceanside’s North Jetty with some of the biggest scores and battles in the event’s history.

Top SUP surf men finishers Zane Schweitzer and Bernd Roediger from Hawaii and SUP surf women Candice Appleby (San Clemente, Calif.) and Kanani Yockman (Hawaii) qualified to represent their country in the ISA World SUP Championship SUP surf events in Puerto Rico this Winter. Appleby posted the highest wave score of the day – a 9.33.

Danny Ching of Redondo Beach, Calif., 2019 Pan Am Gold Medalist Connor Baxter from Hawaii, Florida’s Stephanie Shideler, and North Carolina’s April Zilg qualified to compete in the ISA World men’s and women’s SUP Distance race. Hunter Pflueger (Hawaii) and Tiana Pugliese (Redondo Beach, Calif.) will represent the U.S. in the ISA World SUP prone races. Pflueger won a 2019 world title in prone distance paddling at only 21 years old. The SUP Technical racers competing in the ISA Worlds will be Connor Baxter, Campbell Carter, multiple ISA Gold Medalist Candice Appleby and April Zilg. Junior SUP Technical ISA racers are 17-year old Campbell Carter and 13-year old Soryn Preston. See full team roster below.

USA Surfing ISA Paddle Team

SUP Distance
Danny Ching
Connor Baxter
April Zilg
Stephanie Shideler

Prone Distance
Hunter Flueger
Tiana Pugliese

SUP Technical
Connor Baxter
Campbell Carter
Candice Appleby
April Zilg

Junior SUP Technical
Campbell Carter
Soryn Preston

SUP Surf
Zane Schweitzer
Bernd Roediger
Candice Appleby
Kanani Yockman

See results for all divisions below:

Open Men SUP surf
1st  Zane Schweitzer
2nd Bernd Roediger
3rd  Max Torres
4th  Daniel Hughes

Open Women SUP surf
1st  Candice Appleby
2nd Kanani Yockman
3rd  Sam Estabrooks
4th  Victoria Burgess

Men 40+
1st Syrus Melandish
2nd Jonatas Novaes
3rd Matt Kryger
4th Clayton Everline

Women 40+
1st Veronica Wold
2nd Karen Sakul
3rd Jennifer Dall

Boys U18 SUP surf
1st Bobo Gallagher

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
QR: USA National SUP Titles 2022

Brand Partners

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x